Take a chance?

Has anyone wanted to change their life so much that they literally just packed their family up and just left? I would love to know if anyone has done this!

It’s something my fiance and I have been contemplating a lot lately. We live in Texas and we’ve both been here our whole lives. We hate it, with a passion. We’re so unhappy and stressed with our jobs, the traffic, the people here and even just the weather and scenery of this state. I’m the type of person that always wants to have a plan and doesn’t want to set myself up for failure but for some reason, this seems logical… We have ideas where we want to go and we’re suppose to be moving out of the place we’re in now around June anyway. I know if we made the move, my fiance could have a job the next day. He’s a Sous Chef right now and completely underpaid. All chef positions in the area are underpaid unless he worked in Dallas but the drive is not worth it and I would never want to live in that area.

I guess my main concern is having the money to move in the first place because we literally have nothing saved up. As of last week, I’ve finally come to a point where I can save up money now that I’ve paid off all my credit card debt which I’m thankful for. I’m at a point in my life where I want to take chances and not be afraid of change especially if it is a change that I really want. If we don’t take chances, I feel like we’ll always be stuck living and doing everything we hate. I don’t want to be that person anymore. Am I crazy to want to do this? Part of me feels like I am just because we have two kids and I’m scared of not having security for them in the time that it will take us to transition somewhere else.

Not sure what to do. I just know I want the change so badly. Decisions, decisions…

3 thoughts on “Take a chance?

  1. I haven’t packed up, said goodbye to my family, and moved somewhere else but I took a chance and quit my job because I was unhappy. But I did so with both rationality and emotions. I think, in my opinion, it is always good to take a calculated risk. In the end, we as humans will always regret (IMO). I did this:
    1. What is that makes me happy?
    2. Does the thing that makes me happy achievable by me? And in what duration?
    3. Self evaluation to see if I am capable to achieve it in time or not.
    4. Risks involved. Personal risks (how will it affect my career? How will it affect the people around me emotionally?) and financial risks (will I be able to survive and pursue without a pay for a while? If it comes to that state)
    5. Make a plan. Make a backup plan if things don’t work out. (Basically have Plan A to Plan Z). This, if properly planned, works out very well!
    6. Go through the plan again and see if you can add few more things to it.
    7. Go for it!

    I have been sustaining for a year now by experimenting for the last year. I have explored everything I like and currently in the process of building a proper foundation for myself. By the end of next month, I will know the direction in which I have to tread. Also, keep revisiting your plans just to remind yourself the reason you took this road.

    Hope this helped! Cheers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

